Student Winners

Surrounded by a backdrop of some of District B’s most outstanding students, LaToya addressed her fellow Council members and the public at the April 21 Council meeting.

Our school system is on the rebound and we need students like these, who inspire classmates, neighbors, family members and friends.


at the dais

This was the fourth year in a row that the District B Office has honored local high school and grammar school students with the “District B Citizenship Award.” The award is given to is given to two graduating students from each participating school throughout District “B.” This year there were 38 such students and prior to the Council meeting, District B staff gave each student a medal to memorialize the day. Additionally, LaToya gave the students a certificate of achievement, which were signed by all of the Council members.

We must encourage our young people to always strive for success and when they do so, it is our job to shine the spotlight on them. Below is a list of the schools and student winners.

Kipp Central City Primary: Ashton Lewis and Madisyn Carr

The NET Charter High School: Devinta Williams and Joriel Boykins

The International High School of New Orleans: Brea Arties and Ahmad Shabalala

Morris Jeff Community School: Daija Ellison and David Kessler

Holy Rosary High School: Charles Elliotte Harold and Syndey Freeman Bickford

St. Katharine Drexel Preparatory School: Jaz Hall and Kourtney Williams

Louise S. McGehee School: Claiborne Beary and Grace Perret

St. Michael Special School: Cody Mathieu and Deja Oliver

Renew Accelerated High School: Kyle Carpenter and Cicely Rizzuto

Trinity Episcopal School: Penn McCay and Trevor Peyronnin

Waldorf School of New Orleans: Ethan Jones and Kylie Curry

Sylvanie Williams College Prep: Keillan Moore and Randasha Singleton

Warren Easton Charter High School: Reginell Meridy and Sean Williams

James M. Singleton Charter School: Ishanna Monique Hollins and Simeon Robertson

Success Preparatory Academy: Naadir Abdol and Micah Sims

St. Mary’s Dominican: Kensley Villavasso and O’Brien Alley

St. Alphonsus School: Ilijah Nicholas Adams and Lavar Marcus Bell

Mahalia Jackson Elementary: Shelton Hudson and Rayzine Porter

De La Salle High School: Jordan Rankins and Scott Lauland